Cookies on Myakka
The Myakka website uses cookies – they are essential in order to support your online shopping experience. By continuing to use and browse this website, you consent to cookies being used in accordance with our Cookie Policy. Should you wish to change your cookie settings, you can read more here.
Newsletter Signup
0345 460 3122 My accountCustomer Reviews | Request a catalogue | Call us on: 
FREE standard Delivery Order now for Christmas delivery

Surin Storyteller's Chair For tales of knights and Lear nonsense, this magical Surin Storyteller's Chair is a fabled Thai design, super-sized and intricately hand carved from warm sun-blessed Monkey Pod wood. Following beautiful bergere curves, its intriguing sculptural motifs could just as easily be from a glactic star ship or King Arthur's court. All it awaits is your storyteller's imagination.

Each Surin product is produced using an ethical approach to trading by supporting small, family run manufacturers and artisans in Thailand on a fair trade basis. Due to the nature of the product, the colour, grain and detail of the wood will vary adding to the unique charm. For more information please click on the Monkey Pod wood link below.

100% Monkey Pod wood with a hand waxed finish.

Fair trade furniture imported directly from Thailand.

Rated 4.5/5 based on 23 customer reviews
Surin Storyteller's Chair
4.5 

average customer review

(23 customer reviews)

5 star
 
15 
4 star
 
3 star
 
2 star
 
1 star
 
Sort by
Per page > View all
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 04 Oct 2016

What a delight!

Even better than the picture. This chair is comfortable to sit up in or lounge against the curved ends. Well made and skillfully finished this is a real statement piece.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 30 Jul 2016

Excellent

We love the chair, as does everyone else who walks into our hallway and sees it. We are so pleased with the service from ordering on line to the delivery and unpacking. Excellent service. Thank you

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 02 Jun 2016

A beautiful piece of furniture built to last

This looks fantastic in the sun lounge. Everyone makes a bee line for it, then I insist whoever has the chair tells a story. So far, all have done so. The chair must be inspirational. Have added some lovely cushions, maybe Myakka could produce made to measure cushions as I had to be creative with my cushions but love the effect created.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 31 May 2016

Storyteller's chair

A beautiful piece of furniture which so many visitors have admired. A lovely feature in our room.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 17 Dec 2015

Fantastic

This is a bit bigger than I expected it to be, but that does not disappoint me. Its very comfortable to sit on and very good looking.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 08 Aug 2015

chair

everyone has admired surin storyteller chair. Two THIN friends can sit on it side by side or one larger me can loll comfortably. Could not find a seat pad in that size but friend clever with needle made one so no problem.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
4.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 4 / 5
- 24 Jun 2015

Storys to write!

Firtly I should make comment on delivery My first date was not suitable and I had to chase new date several times over nxt week with little response till Myakka intervened Staff however were pleasant and courteous. Secondly, I always liked the chair and saved for a long time to get enough money to buy it When I gave it a closer look it was bigger than it appeared or I would have preferred So it was needful to move furniture and change my room in the hope it would fit When the chair did come there is actually even move bulk than I thought ... it looked in the book as tho the arms curled in to a smaller seat but in fact its quite up and down Also the chair has more of a redness than the brown of the picture, which in fairness matches quite well with my other wooden furniture It must also be said its not the most comfy of chairs and seems a shame to cover the wood with cushioning, all of which may prove usful to prospective buyers! Thus said I love the chair, its solid, well made and unique, and would recommend it to others and intend to enjoy it myself! Storys to write and dragons to fight!??

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
4.0   Product rating 4 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 03 Jan 2015

Storytellers Chair

The storytellers chair is lovely to look at, the wood was a little rough in places but came up with a good polish, very pleased with my purchase.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
4.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 3 / 5
- Cornwall 30 Jul 2014

Great Chair

It's a great chair just what I was hoping for! I was delighted by the product and your company service - a phone call and email to say that product had arrived in depot and awaiting delivery.However, I thought the delivery service was rather slow especially since there was a carriage charge. After a week of no communication I had to chase up the item and as it was for a leaving present had to give a time ultimatum. The chair i was finally delivered after nearly 2 weeks from the depot!

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Myakka Comment: Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It’s great to hear that the item has arrived as expected and that you are pleased with your new purchase. We are sorry that the delivery time was a little longer than expected. We work hard with our couriers to ensure that we make deliveries of our large and heavy furniture, requiring a Delivery+ service, within 10-14 days.Through our sale period we do advise this time frame can be extended slightly to account for high volumes going through our warehouse.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 10 Jun 2014

A magnificent chair

I fell in love with the Surin storyteller's chair when I saw it in a Myakka catalogue which came with another catalogue which I normally receive. I had never seen Myakka furniture before, but was convinced by the photograph in the catalogue that this was just what was needed for a certain space in our home. I had only once ordered through the internet previously. It would be an understatement to say that I was not disappointed when the chair arrived and it fitted perfectly into the space and is now the feature of the room. In fact, it absolutely makes it. Three friends have come in since and each said:- 'I love that chair.' It is a superb design, being a mixture of delicacy and sturdiness. The wood is a most beautiful colour and it is marvellous to the touch. I love the design as a whole, the depth and unusual length of the chair. Thank you so much. Oh - and the service was also fantastic. In fact, as the footballers say :- 'I'm over the moon with it!' Thank you.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- Cambridgeshire 02 Jun 2014

Fabulous product and service

Fabulous carved chair, really solid with beautiful shaded wood. Delivered very quickly with excellent service.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 06 May 2014

Beautiful piece of furniture

I have looked at this for months in the catalogue. Eventually I took the plunge and bought it. The service was excellent, the gentlemen delivering it brought it in and unpacked it, taking the packaging away as promised, and couldn't have been more helpful. The seat itself is beautiful, slightly larger than I have anticipated, but all the better for that. It is very well constructed, and the finish is a warm, deep colour. All who have seen it have admired it. I'm sure this will become a family heirloom.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
Read more reviews
Myakka Ltd, Tythings Commercial Centre, Wincanton, BA9 9EQ, registered in England and Wales, Company Reg No 459 2999
© 2016 Myakka.co.uk. Myakka is a registered trademark.