Cookies on Myakka
The Myakka website uses cookies – they are essential in order to support your online shopping experience. By continuing to use and browse this website, you consent to cookies being used in accordance with our Cookie Policy. Should you wish to change your cookie settings, you can read more here.
Newsletter Signup
0345 460 3122 My accountCustomer Reviews | Request a catalogue | Call us on: 
FREE standard Delivery Order now for Christmas delivery

Thakat Large Stool Our gorgeous Thakat stool is so popular, we've designed a new, extra wide version to double the delight. With soft lunar curves and smoothed edges, this is traditional Indian design that flows with your décor, sitting at the end of your bed, as a window seat or in the hall. Unlike boudoir chairs, the original stool is a big beautiful statement piece, high enough for dining or at the piano. The new model is simply wider and just made for sharing. Both are hand carved in graceful curves from Sheesham hardwood, creating a weighty presence and a very grown-up grandeur.

100% Sheesham wood (Indian Rosewood) with a hand waxed finish.

Fair trade furniture imported directly from Northern India.

Rated 4.5/5 based on 17 customer reviews
Thakat Large Stool
4.5 

average customer review

(17 customer reviews)

5 star
 
13 
4 star
 
3 star
 
2 star
 
1 star
 
Sort by
Per page > View all
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 24 Nov 2016

Thakat large stool

I first saw this stool in John Lewis, but was put off by the price. I searched for the product range online and was delighted to discover this one from Myakka. Not only was it a Fair Trade product, but it was also £100 less. I am very happy with the stool and will shop with Myakka again

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
3.0   Product rating 1 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 23 Sep 2016

Looks nice but not very strong

Initially very pleased with this but just one weekend of constant use and leg joints came loose and it became unstable. The attachment of the legs is through rather thin pieces of wood and it was simply not sturdy enough for my family's use. A shame but as it had 'broken' so quickly I have been offered a full refund. Hopefully it will be collected for return and the refund will come through. Would hav e been very useful as it can easily seat two but I'm going to have to look for something more sturdily built.

Would you recommend this to a friend? No

Myakka Comment: Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear the quality of the Thakat Large Stool was not as expected. We are expecting the stool back to us very soon and we will issue a full refund as soon as this is the case. We have passed your comments onto our suppliers and we are always working with them to improve the quality. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- London 22 Jul 2016

Absolutely lovely stool

I have been admiring this stool for ages. Finally decided to make the plunge and purchase it and I am glad I did. This stool fits perfectly in my hallway and is admired by friends and family. It gives my hallway a comfy feeling, love love love it. May purchase another for my bedroom.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- West Yorkshire 10 Feb 2016

Beautiful piece of furniture

Communication prior to delivery was very good and the item was delivered when expected. It was extremely well packed and protected in transit. The delivery men unpacked it and put it in place for me. I was very pleased with the stool ---- exactly as I'd imagined and a beautiful piece of furniture.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 04 Feb 2016

Lovely addition to our hallway

We have been looking for something as a place to take shoes off in our hall for ages and finally found this which was a great size and is a beautiful addition to the entrance hall. We are very happy with the quality and the unusual design. Thanks Myakka.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 24 Jul 2015

Beautiful piece of furniture

I purchased this item to sit below my bedroom window. It is absolutely beautiful. I love it!!!!!! It is such an unusual piece of furniture and lots great. It isn't heavy but well made. Highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 25 Feb 2015

Thakat large stool

This is beautifully made and is a real statement piece. The finish and description is is exact in the catalogue. It looks gorgeous and would definitely recommend it

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- Devon 18 Dec 2014

Lovely and unusual stool

Lovely product and excellent service. Both the description and colour of the stool on the website are accurate. An attractive, unusual and useful piece of furniture for my guest bedroom. I am very pleased with it.

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
4.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 4 / 5
- 30 Sep 2014

Really like this product

The stool fits beautifully in the bay window recess in my living room. It's a really nice piece of furniture, I am using it as a table to display items but it can easily be cleared for extra seating should the need arise. It is good quality and built to last - I am very pleased with it. The only issue was the long wait for the delivery which was 10 weeks! Such a long time to wait - but still really pleased with the product. Excellent!

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 22 Jul 2014

Chandra Large Stool

I have coveted this stool for more than two years, thought why shouldn't i , so I bought it. I love it, have it at the bottom of my bed. Everyone who has seen it admires it. My only gripe is it's now £50 cheaper in the sale. Still love it though

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
5.0   Product rating 5 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- SURREY 22 Apr 2014

Chandra large stool

As with the nest if table we previously bought from Myakka we are not only delighted wth the stool but very impressed with the service. Myakka s products are different and well made and I am sure we will be returning to them again soon

Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
4.0   Product rating 3 / 5    Service rating 5 / 5
- 04 Apr 2014

Slight Disappontment

I loved the design and shape of the Chandra stool, but was not happy with the roughness of the finish: come some fine Spring/Summer weather I shall be taking it into the garden to sand it down before I can wax it. I would not buy from Myakka again unless I had an assurance of proper finishing of the product. E.A.

Would you recommend this to a friend? No

Myakka Comment: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry that your Chandra Stool did not arrive with you in perfect condition. As discussed, some wax is on its way to you, which should help with the roughness. If you have any further queries or questions please do let us know and we will be happy to help.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful, did you? yes no
Read more reviews
Myakka Ltd, Tythings Commercial Centre, Wincanton, BA9 9EQ, registered in England and Wales, Company Reg No 459 2999
© 2016 Myakka.co.uk. Myakka is a registered trademark.